September 2

Here are the Nominees for the 2020 Country Music Awards

The 2020 Country Music Awards is up and coming and yes, we are in for some surprises!

Luke Combs and Carly Pearce announced early on Tuesday (Sept. 1) on “Good Morning America” while being shot at the Grand Ole Opry the first batch of nominees. Country newcomers and nominees for new artists of the year, Ingrid Andress and Gabby Barrett later completed the list and announced the next set of candidates via a live feed.

The ‘Entertainer of the Year,’ ‘Album of the Year,’ and ‘Song of the Year ‘ featured nominees you may not have expected to be on the list but still deserve the opportunity to be in it. In addition, Carrie Underwood and Miranda Lambert made history.

For the first time in 20 years, Faith Hill and The Chicks (formerly known as Dixie Chicks) were nominated for the most notable award of the evening. We would even need to backtrack to 1979 to look at the last time when two female solo artists, Crystal Gale and Barbara Mandrell, were nominated in the same year for the award.

Found below is the complete list of this year’s Country Music Awards.

Entertainer of the Year

Eric Church
Luke Combs
Miranda Lambert
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year

Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year

Eric Church
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year

Lady A
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts

Vocal Duo of the Year

Brooks & Dunn
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

New Artist of the Year

Jimmie Allen
Ingrid Andress
Gabby Barrett
Carly Pearce
Morgan Wallen

Single of the Year

“10,000 Hours,” Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
“Beer Never Broke My Heart,” Luke Combs
“Bluebird,” Miranda Lambert
“The Bones,” Maren Morris
“I Hope,” Gabby Barrett

Song of the Year (Awarded to the songwriters)

“Bluebird,” Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby
“The Bones,” Maren Morris, Jimmy Robbins, Laura Veltz
“Even Though I’m Leaving,” Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III, Ray Fulcher
“I Hope You’re Happy Now,” Carly Pearce, Luke Combs, Randy Montana, Jonathan Singleton
“More Hearts Than Mine,” Ingrid Andress, Sam Ellis, Derrick Southerland

Music Video of the Year

“10,000 Hours,” Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
“Bluebird,” Miranda Lambert
“Homemade,” Jake Owen
“I Hope You’re Happy Now,” Carly Pearce and Lee Brice
“Second One To Know,” Chris Stapleton

Album of the Year

Heartache Medication, Jon Pardi
Never Will, Ashley McBryde
Old Dominion, Old Dominion
What You See Is What You Get, Luke Combs
Wildcard, Miranda Lambert

Music Event of the Year

“10,000 Hours,” Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
“Be A Light,” Thomas Rhett featuring Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin, and Keith Urban
“The Bones,” Maren Morris with Hozier
“Fooled Around And Fell In Love,” Miranda Lambert (feat. Maren Morris, Elle King, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes and Caylee Hammack)
“I Hope You’re Happy Now,” Carly Pearce and Lee Brice

Musician of the Year

Jenee Fleenor, Fiddle
Paul Franklin, Steel Guitar
Rob McNelley, Guitar
Ilya Toshinskiy, Guitar
Derek Wells, Guitar


barbara mandrell, Carly Pearce, Carrie Underwood, Crystal Gale, Luke Combs, Miranda Lambert

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}


You may also like

Latest Stories

Subscribe to our newsletter now!

Country Thang Daily