May 30

Jimmy Fortune Has a New Album Called God & Country

Jimmy Fortune of the Statler Brothers continues his career in music despite the retirement of his fellow singers. He’s not yet ready to rest his incredible voice. Recently, he released the album called God & Country. The album was produced by the multi-winning member of Isaacs, Ben Isaacs. In addition, Fortune’s album was released under his record label The Gaither Music Group, this was the label that managed two of Fortune’s previous albums.

jimmy fortune god & country meet me at arlington
Jimmy Fortune released a brand new album, God & Country/ Photo via

Jimmy Fortune’s New Album, God & Country

God & Country was released on the 24th of May. It was out just in time for the Memorial Day celebration. The album featured fourteen songs, with one original composition, “Meet Me at Arlington.” The latter was a collaborative effort by Fortune and the award-winning songwriter, Dave Clark. Fortune shared that the song was inspired by a Gold Star mother. The mother questioned the teacher as to why he/she criticized the military.

“There are over 400,000 graves at Arlington and stones that represent people who have died for our freedom and who’ve given so much for us. That’s why that song was written. It’s a powerful song, a moving song and a true song about her.”

The sacrifices of the brave men and women should never be judged because they did their best in all they can to protect the country. The thing our soldiers do for our country is not easy. They have to sacrifice not only their lives but, they also have to sacrifice the people they love. They have to bravely leave behind their loved ones, and not giving them the guarantee that they’ll ever return home safety. That’s why in return, we should pay them back by respecting and honoring them. It’s the only and best thing we can do for them and their family.

Jimmy Fortune God & Country
God & Country Cover/ Photo via

Fortune wanted to honor our brave soldiers who died for our country, hence, “Meet Me at Arlington” came to life.

Take a look at this inspiring song.

His album is made of songs that geared towards the topic of God and country only. However, he has also included “More Than a Name on a Wall,” a single he and his band recorded in 1989. Their song scored a spot on the top 10 of the chart.


1. “Battle Hymn of the Republic/This Land Is Your Land”
2. “The Old Rugged Cross”
3. “Battle of New Orleans”
4. “In the Garden”
5. “Meet Me at Arlington”
6. “Because He Lives”
7. “I Love You More”
8. “More Than a Name on a Wall”
9. “Softly and Tenderly”
10. “In God We Trust”
11. God Bless America/America the Beautiful (medley)
12. “It Is Well with My Soul”
13. “Intro to It Is No Secret”
14. “It Is No Secret”

Fortune’s tenor sounding voice coupled with the songs in his album is something everyone should listen to.


Jimmy Fortune

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}


You may also like

Latest Stories

Subscribe to our newsletter now!

Country Thang Daily