October 1

IBMA 2019: Male, Female, and Vocal Group of the Year Winners

Last Thursday, the International Bluegrass Music Award or IBMA 2019 was held, and it was an extravagant and amazing night, jam-packed with outstanding performances. Winners were also announced at the award show held on the 26th of September at Raleigh, North Carolina.

Image result for ibma show 2019
IBMA 2019. Photo via bluegrasstoday.com

The show was hosted by American bluegrass singer Del McCoury, and country and bluegrass singer-songwriter Jim Lauderdale.

The association of bluegrass music celebrated its 30th annual show, and they honored a lot of artists, from singers to the individual musicians. Let’s take a look at this year’s winners of Male Vocalist of the Year, Female Vocalist of the Year, and Vocal Group of the Year.

IBMA 2019 Winners

Male Vocalist of the Year

This year’s nominees for this category were Shawn Camp, Russell Moore, Tim O’Brien, Danny Paisley, and co-host McCoy. These singer-songwriters are all great with what they do but a vote has to be made, and the award for this year was given to Moore.

Image result for russell moore bluegrass singer IBMA 2019
Russell Moore won IBMAs Male Vocalist of the Year. Photo via bluegrasstoday.com

Last year the award was brought home by Buddy Melton.

Female Vocalist of the Year

Great names were included in this year’s nominees, and we can all agree that each deserves to win the award but only one must be chosen. The nominees for the Female Vocalist of the Year were Brooke Aldridge, Dale Ann Bradley, Sierra Hull, Molly Tuttle, and Rhonda Vincent. The award was taken home by none other than Aldridge. What is even surprising is that Aldridge won the award last year. In fact, she has won the award for three consecutive years. That night was certainly an amazing night for her.

Image result for Brooke Aldridge IBMA 2019
Brooke Aldridge won Female Vocalist of the Year for the third time. Photo by LAMA Photography/ wataugademocrat.com

Vocal Group of the Year

The nominees for this year’s vocal group were Balsam Range, I’m With Her, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out, and Sister Sadie. And the award was given to Sister Sadie. Last year it was given to Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, who were also nominated this year.

Image result for Sister Sadie IBAM 2019
Sister Sadie winner of Vocal Group of the Year. Photo via Sister Sadie’s official website.

Congratulations to all the winners of this year’s award show!

Aside from holding the annual bluegrass award show, the association also honored some artists for this year’s inductee into the Bluegrass Hall of Fame.

Other Categories and the Winners

  • Entertainer of the Year: Joe Mullins and the Radio Ramblers
  • Instrumental Group of the Year: Michael Cleveland and Flamekeeper
  • Song of the Year: “Thunder Dan,” Sideline
  • Album of the Year: Del McCoury Still Sings Bluegrass, Del McCoury Band
  • Gospel Recording of the Year: “Gonna Sing, Gonna Shout,” Claire Lynch
  • Instrumental Recording of the Year: “Darlin’ Pal(s) of Mine,” Missy Raines with Alison Brown, Mike Bub, and Todd Phillips
  • New Artist of the Year: Billy Strings
  • Collaborative Recording of the Year: “The Guitar Song,” Joe Mullins and the Radio Ramblers with Del McCoury
  • Banjo Player of the Year: Kristin Scott Benson
  • Bass Player of the Year: Missy Raines
  • Resophonic Guitar Player of the Year: Phil Leadbetter
  • Fiddle Player of the Year: Michael Cleveland
  • Guitar Player of the Year: Billy Strings
  • Mandolin Player of the Year: Alan Bibey


IBMA 2019

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}


You may also like

Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram, and Jon Randall Launch Season 47 of Austin City Limits With Acoustic Session of The Marfa Tapes

Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram, and Jon Randall Launch Season 47 of Austin City Limits With Acoustic Session of The Marfa Tapes

Latest Stories

Subscribe to our newsletter now!

Country Thang Daily