October 30

2020 Ameripolitan Music Awards: The Exciting Nominations are Here!

The nominees for the 2020 Ameripolitan Music Awards are finally here! For the seventh year running, the award show will honor those artists whose music “does not readily conform to the tastes of today’s ‘country’ or other music genres associations,” according to its website.

Ameripolitan, Ameripolitan Music Awards, Music, Awards
Kathryn Legendre/Facebook

The awards show was founded in 2014 by Dale Watson, and the Ameripolitan Music Awards took place in Watson’s hometown of Austin Texas until 2018. He had always envisioned different cities hosting the Ameripolitan Music Awards, and given Memphis’ history with roots music and the blues, he thought it was a natural fit for the show’s mission.

Memphis welcomed the awards show with enthusiasm that Watson attributed to the city’s reverence for live music and musical heritage.

“It’s about the music. That’s what it’s solely about. They really want live music. And it’s the whole weekend, you know? It starts on Friday and ends up on the awards show on Monday — where it goes into the after-party! But it’s nothing but a whole weekend of live music, original music, all over town.”

2020 Ameripolitan Music Awards Nominees List

Honky Tonk Group

The Country Side of Harmonica Sam
Western Centuries
The Shootouts
Casey James Prestwood Band

Honky Tonk Male

Zephaniah OHora
Charley Crockett
Pat Reedy
Johnny Falstaff

Honky Tonk Female

Jaime Wyatt
Sarah Gayle Meech
Kathryn Legendre
Sarah Vista

Western Swing Group

The Farmer and Adele
The Urban Pioneers
Bill and the Belles
50 Shades of Hay

Western Swing Male

Ranger Doug
Kyle Eldridge
Keenan Wade (of The Farmer and Adele)
Dave Stuckey

Western Swing Female 

Georgia Parker
Cheryl Deserée
Wendy Newcomer
Katie Shore

Rockabilly Group

Modern Don Juans
Bebo & The Good Time Boys
Mark Gamsjager and the The Lustre Kings
Trix O Treat Band

Rockabilly Male

Bloodshot Bill
Eddie Clendening
Jittery Jack
Shaun Young

Rockabilly Female

Laura Palmer
Amber Foxx
Ruby Ann
Linda Gail Lewis

Musician of the Year

Joel Patterson
Rose Sinclair
Sean Mencher
Amy Griffin
Bobby Trimble
Becky Hinson
Mike Bernal

Venue of the Year

American Legion Post 82 — Nashville, Tenn.
Southgate House Revival — Newport, Ky.
Luckenbach Texas — Fredericksburg, Texas
Skinny Dennis – Brooklyn, N.Y.
Dee’s Country Cocktail Lounge – Nashville, Tenn.
Duke’s Indy – Indianapolis, Ind.

Festival of the Year

Bristol Rhythm & Roots Reunion — Bristol, Tenn.
High Rockabilly — Calafell, Spain
Western Swingout Weekender — Tehachapi, Calif.
SYMCO Weekender — Symco, Wisconsin

DJ of the Year

Kevin Martinez
Celia Villagran
Don Sticksel
Marivi Yubero García
Jimi Palacios
Eddie White


Ameripolitan Music Awards

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}


You may also like

Latest Stories

Subscribe to our newsletter now!

Country Thang Daily