July 6

ICYMI:  George Strait Hailed As Texas’ State Musician Of The Year

George Strait and his reign continue to soar as the Grammy Award winner country artist was hailed as the State of Texas’ Musician of the Year.

George Strait on Texas State Musician of the Year 2017


Texas Musician of the Year, George Strait Texas Songs

Every two years, The Texas Commission on the Arts votes the Musician of the year via their committee. The nomination is brought first by the public and select who they think deserve the coveted title. This title is appointed through House and Senate resolutions in the Texas State Legislature.

With this award on his name, George Strait follows the footsteps of country artists like Willie Nelson. On his press release George Strait dished about receiving the 2017 State Musician of the Year award:


“It’s a great honor for me to be selected as Texas State Musician of 2017 and join this very prestigious list of other honorees, I’m a very proud Texan and love to sing the praises of our great state every chance I get. Thank you very, very much.”


[advert id=”193667″]

Proven true to his words, the “Chair” singer did incorporate a lot of Texas concepts in his songs which turned out to be his greatest hits such as “Amarillo By Morning,” “All My Ex’s Live in Texas,” “Take me to Texas” and his “Somewhere Down in Texas.” He even wrote himself the song “I Can’t See Texas From Here.” Truly, we can track a lot of Texas songs George Strait has included on his music catalog and his homage to his roots.

Meanwhile, here are the previous hailed ‘Musician of the Year’ awardees by the Texas State

2003 – James Dick, Round Top

2004 – Ray Benson, Austin

2005 – Johnny Gimble, Tyler

2006 – Billy Joe Shaver, Waco

2007 – Dale Watson, Pasadena, Austin

2008 – Shelley King, Austin

2009 – Willie Nelson, Austin, Abbott

2010 – Sara Hickman, Austin

2011 – Lyle Lovett, Klein

2012 – Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top), Houston

2013 – Craig Hella Johnson, Austin

2014 – Leonardo “Flaco” Jiménez, San Antonio

2015 – Jimmie Vaughan

2016 – Joe Ely

2017 – George Strait

Next year, blues singer Marcia Ball would be accepting the same award.


{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

You may also like

Latest Stories

Subscribe to our newsletter now!

Country Thang Daily