October 17

What Will Be the Focus for the 2017 CMT Artists of the Year?

Taking a break from all the glitz and glamour of the traditional way that the awarding ceremony is celebrated, CMT honors country music’s finest artists while paying tribute to the victims and survivors of the deadly hurricanes and the Route 91 Harvest shooting incident in Las Vegas.

As the critics would call it, the 8th annual special of the prestigious awards night instantly changed into an evening dedicated to spreading hope and healing for all those who were unfortunate to have undergone such tragic events in their lives.

CMT’ and TV Land’s General Manager, Frank Tanki, had this to share about the event’s initiative, “Given the devastation of Hurricanes Harvey, Irma, and Maria and the mass shootings in Las Vegas, we feel a commitment to our fans to address all of the tragedies not in one number and solemn moment or segment, but rather devote the entire evening up to uplifting the fans through high-spirited music. The special has always been a place where artists from different genres can stand side-by-side, and now more than ever, we want to showcase the power of unity and resilience through music.”

Each of the honorees who will be presented with awards and given the privilege of an acceptance speech will be delivering their messages of love and hope to their fans. These artists include Keith Urban, Jason Aldean, Florida Georgia Line, Chris Stapleton, and Luke Bryan. This is their way of expressing their utmost support and care to the fans who have been with them throughout the course of their career. It is likewise their way of spreading rays of hope to those who have had a lot to lose during the said tragic incidents in American history.

Aside from our favorite country artists, CMT has also gathered the entertainment community to deliver messages of hope and healing. That said, artists from all genres will also be present during the 90-minute special event.

Fans can expect never-before-seen collabs and performances, a performance of Day’s Rise Up courtesy of Grammy award-winning band Little Big Town, and Grammy-nominated artist Andra Dray, as well as a beautiful number by Grammy winners Common for Day and Lee Ann Womack. They will be singing their new collaboration, Stand Up for Something.

The CMT Awards will be airing live on October 18, 8 p.m. ET from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center.


CMT, country artists

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

You may also like

Latest Stories

Subscribe to our newsletter now!

Country Thang Daily